we wont let her down

I’ve spent a long time running and I’m at it again
I sold my soul for rock and roll
I’ve layed in fields in the dirty south
I’ve slept through the windy city howl
Through the lights and sirens and the late night crowds
I walk these streets with my head held high
cause mama made us promise
we’d make her proud
Yah we won’t let her down
Its been a long time coming can’t count my sins
Gave the devil my word, he let my life begin
I Drove threw a storm in a mid west town
I’ve Washed in the rain from a texas cloud
Through the night and the mountains and desert wind
I walk these streets with my head held high
Cause mama made us promise
We’d make her proud
Yah we won’t let her down,no
Its been a long time running, just eating from tin
If it weren’t for loosing we would never win

Through the stars to the moon where the music’s loud
we’re gonna make her proud
Cause mama made us promise
Cause mama made us promise
we won’t let her down
no
we won’t let her down

4 thoughts on “we wont let her down

  1. I tried and tried to comment this but it just wouldnt go. What I wanted to say was: what exactly do you know about the dirty south?! Haha. I am sure I could teach you a thing or too. And I am willing to bet I have laid in more fields than you have. But it comes with the territory I guess. Love this. You make Mama proud, now!

    • Love this. Partly because I’m a Mama, partly because I’m a daughter, and I can no longer call my Mama to share things with her.
      A lot has happened to me and my family in the ten years since she died. I think I made her proud. I know she would have been insanely proud of my kids.
      I’m sure your mama is, too.

Leave a Reply

