…lets.go.down.to.the.river…

I am such an asshole..
I have a problem..
that problem is, I like to laugh…
when I shouldnt…
I honestly dont mean to,
and I would be upset if people laughed at me
when I felt they shouldnt, but its almost expected…
let me explain…

I stopped in for a little refueling at a local coffee shop at lunch time today.
It wasn’t very busy…
Steady at best…
So I enter the line, minding my own business, pretending like I was important or something, with my blackberry in hand, (when infact i was reading the word of the day on dictionary.com) when a heated conversation between (what i assume) a husband and wife broke out… I didnt really pay attention, but because I am nosey (and with out choice i just hear most things and cant turn them off) I listened in and really it was nothing exciting so i tuned them out and carried on (by now i am playing gems) in my own little world. As I started to wonder what these people really looked like it was now their turn to order and I was still unsure of what I wanted.
So I glance over the menu (knowing I was going to end up ordering the green tea frappe) just to be sure I wasnt overseeing anything.
I hear the husband place his order followed by the guy behind the counter say “…and for you sir?”
the second i heard those words come out of his mouth I snapped my head to my right and saw the biggest look of shock on this poor womens face… and to make matters worse, i fucking loose it and start laughing.. like to the point that they were all looking at me, now in shock that some one would have the nerve to laugh..not only did I laugh, I then started laughing at myself laughing at the most ridiculous thing i could have laughed at all day… like who does that?…
seriously though,i had not even looked at the lady until that moment, and it was an easy mistake to make.. if i had not heard her talk i would have never thought twice about her gender.
so to make all matters worse, I now cant stop laughing at the fact that I just made an ass of myself, so i surrender.. i leave and come back when i spot them leaving, and now i am too embarassed to even get my damn drink, so i leave and go to starbucks.

and then tonight i go for a walk…
I have my head phones in…
again, minding my own business…
when I see a family…
a mother…
a father…
a young boy maybe 4 or 5…
and a dog…
the little boy is biking a head,
the dog beside the father…
and the father launches a tennis ball forward…
the dog follows…
and takes the kid out..
like clean, right off the bike
in front of my eyes…
the kid hardly cried,
dog got the ball…
and again I look like an asshole laughing hysterically when I shouldnt be.

…honestly…

I blame it on the sun…

9 thoughts on “…lets.go.down.to.the.river…

  1. bahahaha! I am SOO glad you didn’t see me bump into a sign post on my way to meet you on Sat. I would have never heard the end of it 😀

    I laugh at a lot of inappropriate things too. can’t help it.

  2. my friend tripped at our friend’s funeral, and i laughed…. and couldn’t stop. i felt awful… but it was my reaction to a funny moment in an inappropriate environment. it is okay to laugh sometimes, and you know what… sometimes it isn’t, but that’s okay too… unless you proceed to wring your hands in a mr. burns-like way while laughing, u are harmless…:)

    if people can’t laugh at themselves, they they sometimes need to be laughed at…:) also, isn’t that the premise of the show wipeout / MXE about? laughing at someone when you should probably be helping them up…. i think when u do good in general, in life… and show kindness, when u laugh at something not so funny to someone else, u aren’t an asshole. u are a human:)

  3. I constantly giggle at inappropriate moments, though often it is at myself. I tend to have a running commentary going through my head, and dammit, sometimes I’m funny when I shouldn’t be!
    If you can’t laugh at yourself, you don’t deserve to laugh at anything or anyone else.

  4. As the person that is always being laughed at in these situations (world’s biggest clutz right here) I feel no remorse for laughing at others. Sometimes people laugh to stop from crying, or to break tension or just because they can’t help it. I don’t think it makes you any less of a person (not that you need me to tell you this but you’re pretty freaking amazing). I was in hysterics reading the part about the kid… possibly because I’ve had something similar happen lol. I say laugh, God knows with the state of the world we need it. ❤

  5. This made me laugh so hard. The only thing I am shocked about is the fact the parents weren’t laughing. If it was one of my kids I would have be laughing so hard and yelling out to you something along the lines of ‘ How good was that, wish I had a camera, might have got it on Funniest Home Videos.’ You are not an asshole, you don’t have a problem, you have joy, and see the funny side to everything. That is a wonderful quality. 🙂

  6. You, um, don’t watch Funniest Home Videos, by any chance, do you?

    So, why does laughing like that make you an asshole? My son does it all the time. Sure, he gets told off by his dad (let’s not even go there), but he’s not doing it to be horrible or anything. These things strike his as funny in the moment. *shrugs* My son might be a lot of things, but he’s not an asshole.

    From everything I’ve heard, you’re actually a rather lovely fellow.

    If it makes you feel bad though… Sorry. I’ve got no suggestions. Well, no good ones, anyway.

    On a side note… I loved your description of you pretending to be important by messing with your Blackberry. Can I laugh at that description without being considered an asshole? Cos it makes me want to giggle.

  7. You are the very farthest thing from an asshole…I don’t have much to say (for once) but had to get that out there. 🙂

    xoxo

  8. I agree with Piper… the description of you trying to be important by messing with your Blackberry was REALLY funny…*g*

    And about the inappropiate laughing: I do believe that this is just a way to get rid of some tension or whatever, but it most clearly doesn’t make you an asshole!

  9. I laughed at a funeral. Two funerals, actually. There’s just times you can’t help it. Most of us are going to hell anyway so embrace it.

Leave a Reply

