…can we pretend that airplanes in the night sky are like shooting stars…

I have been home from Los Angeles for almost a week now…
My time there was anything but uneventful…
In fact…
Even when I was bored I wasn’t really that bored…
Not like I am when I am in Vancouver…
I have spent a fair amount of time in LA before but this trip meant something more…
This trip was full of self discovery…
Discovering the worth of myself..
Discovering I really am good at things I am convinced I am not good at…
Discovering who real people are and what having real friends means…
I want to be sad knowing I may not see certain friends again for a year or two, or five…
But the best part about life is the unknown…
I could unknowingly run in some friends in a month, I could never see them again…
And that doesn’t bother me…
Because everything happens for a reason..
There is a reason why I was there…
There is a reason why I left…
I don’t really know them…
I just accept it….
I left Vancouver with intentions…
I left with ideas…
And I left all my worries at the airport…
I drove home…
And I haven’t been back to pick them up…
I needed to be re-inspired…
I have been…
I needed to clear my head…
I did…
I needed to find something real.
And I did…
In what might just be the most fake city on the planet, I found real…
It is easy to pick out the real from the fake in Hollywood…
But it is easier to make the fake a reality…
I have watched that city destroy people…
Mentally…
Physically…
Emotionally…
And me…
Just a boy from North Vancouver…
I made it out alive…
I made it out stronger…
I made it home wanting more…
Normally I am ready to leave Los Angeles when its time to go home…
But I was sad to say goodbye this time…
I think I was sad for the wrong reasons…
Really, there is nothing to be sad about…
Now I am back by the ocean, in the mountains, breathing the freshest air money cannot buy…
And I dream of watching the smog burn away…
I dream of beer by the pool side…
I dream of nothing to do…
I dream of California…
I dream of little lizards on hot pavement under the big sun…
I dream of mexican food made by real mexicans…
I dream of Swingers diner and their mac and cheese…
I dream of the 405, and how to avoid it…
In my dreams, I drive down Fountain…
Laughing at everyone stuck on Sunset…
In my dreams, I listen to “Paradise City” while passing The Whiskey a Go-Go…
In my dreams, I feel alive…
I dream silly things…
But at least I dream…
My dreams have been my reality…
and that pushes me…
That excites me…
It reminds me that dreams never expire…
And everything is attainable…
In a city where negativity and lies create a huge revenue I feel positive…
I am content…
I am broke…
But I don’t care…
I am believe in myself…
I believe in the world…
I believe in my friends…
This time of my life could be described with one word.
Perfect!

13 thoughts on “…can we pretend that airplanes in the night sky are like shooting stars…

  1. ❤ I love how a city can be seen in many different ways after mulitiple visits, funny how people can make all the difference. ; )
    Do What? xx

  2. when you are real, you can find real people anywhere you go, no matter how fake that place can be…

  3. Thank you for writing this and for sharing it. I’m at a point in my life where I need to be reminded often that I need to keep dreaming, that I have to keep dreaming. That is it never too late.

  4. I could really use a wish right now. I would wish away the years and the miles and the accidents of birth and try to find myself some place where the other parts of me are. The missing pieces that you find when you discover a friend of like mind. I would wish to gather them all together in one place and hang out and have fun and have it never end.
    It would be nice to have a complete heart for a change.

    Glad LA was good to you.

  5. You are so accepting of the unknown…how do you do it? I also like to believe things happen for a reason, and people come in and out of our lives, as part of some big master plan. But I don’t like not knowing when I’ll see people again or why something happens. I find your “peace” of mind refreshing and once again inspiring. I’m so glad that LA was so many things for you. And I think you should be so proud for never giving up on what you dream about.

    Love love love. xx

  6. I have lived in CA all my life and near LA for 90% of it…It can be harsh. I was glad to meet you at the show and I am sure we will meet again…
    I am glad this was a good trip for you, it sounds like you needed it :o)

  7. It’s not where you go, what you find, who you meet or what you do that will change your life; it’s what’s inside of you that reacts with all those things that can create magic.

  8. I used to dream: big, huge, gigantic dreams. I could be anything or anyone. I got older, grew up a little (but not too much) and my dreams changed. They were smaller, and more focused, but still seemed lovely to me.
    Some years later, my dreams were dead. Crushed. Barely tatters. But once I had no dreams left, it freed me finally to have new dreams, and I did. Small, baby-step ones, but slowly they grew.
    I had comfortable dreams for a while. Now, I have bigger dreams, but they aren’t mine alone. In many ways, they aren’t mine at all, but I will keep dreaming them.

    Thank you for sharing yourself here. I like your heart.

  9. Wow, just…

    Finally I started to read your blog being reccommended to do so by tons of people and I am impressed, really! There are so many things in it I can relate to.

    This post about LA…I know what you are talking about. I’ve been dead inside for a good part of the last couple of years, I know what it feels like when you need a dream to come true, when you feel like there’s nothing left to loose…

    And I am grateful that I met lovely sweet and inspiring people over the last months that brought me back to life and that fuel my dreams almost everday…

    So, thanks for sharing yourself, your heart, your emotions with us. I have to agree with the others: You are truly beyond amazing…

  10. Wow! This really made me start to think. Good work buddy, and I love the new look of the blog. Keep bringing me inspiration.
    Love ya.

  11. Your writing is so wonderful. You can tell that you speak truely from your heart and say what you are actually feeling. I loved it and can’t wait to read more. You are 100% original and I love it. What a talent and breathe of fresh air. Much love to you.

Leave a Reply

